Ricky Warwick - Tattoos and Alibis
Ricky Warwick's claim to fame was fronting Scottish sleaze Rock band The Almighty. On Almighty's later albums they took a punk approach to their song writing. Therefore I was expecting something in the vein of later Almighty, when I put Ricky Warwick's first solo album in the disc player.

Surprise! Ricky Warwick's album is acoustic driven rock in the American sing/songwriter tradition - not unlike Tom Petty and Bruce Springsteen. The softer style is supported by Ricky's voice, which sounds more polished. The raw edge from the Almighty days is replaced by a really smooth singing style.

All in all there are loads of great songs. Mysterioso sets the mood with its full sound even though its acoustic driven except for the solo. Three Sides To Every Story is another great song with a great twist lyrically. Almighty's lyrics were political and often dealt with religion. The lyrics on "Tattoos and Alibis" are personal and inspired by Ricky's personal experiences.

Listening from beginning to end, the downside to "Tattoos and Alibis" is the dominance of quiet songs. Most work out greatly, but Nothing Is Real and Crack 'N' Divide are too sleepy. The formula works perfect on Enemies, The Genuine Fool and It Always Rains On Sunday.

Ricky now resides in Ireland and the influence from the Irish folk music is heard on several tracks with The Church Of Paranoia as a prime example. The definitive album highlight is the rockiest song Can't Live With Maybe. The up-tempo style works out perfect for the half-acoustic style and it makes you want more songs in the same vein.

Joe Elliott from Def Leppard co-produced the album and he has done a superb job along with Ronan McHugh. Ricky is a great song craftsman. He has matured as songwriter clearly focusing on melody and great choruses. I look forward to hearing the songs performed only by Ricky and his acoustic guitar as support slot for Def Leppard.

A different and surprising album from a guy that used to ooze rawness, both in his looks and singing style.

Written by Michael
Sunday, October 26, 2003
Show all reviews by Michael


Michael: 7/10

Members: No members have rated this album yet.

This article has been shown 3096 times. Go to the complete list.

RevelationZ Comments

Review by Michael

Released by
Sanctuary Records - 2003

1. Mysterioso
2. Enemies
3. Can't Live With Maybe
4. The Genuine Fool
5. Three Sides To Every Story
6. It Always Rains On Sunday
7. The Church Of Paranoia
8. Nothing Is Real
9. Tattoos & Alibis
10. Minor Miracles
11. Crack 'N' Divide
12. Can't Get Arrested
13. Close To The Last Call
14. Ending Is Better Than Mending

Supplied by Sanctuary Records

Acoustic driven Rock

Related links
Visit the band page

Ricky Warwick - Official Website

Other articles
Love Many Trust Few - (Michael)

Z supported shopping

1 - Horrifying
2 - Terrible
3 - Bad
4 - Below average
5 - Average
6 - Good
7 - Very good
8 - Outstanding
9 - Genius
10 - Masterpiece
666 - Unrated

More details...

Daily Spotlight
Led Zeppelin - How the West Was Won
CoverWell here it is, one of the ultimate documentations of one of Metal's most influential bands, in the ultimate live setting. "....
Read full review

Retro Reviews

Savatage - Hall of the mountain king
CoverThose who thought that Savatage had gone soft with Fight for the rock only needed to listen to the first few seconds of 24 hrs. ago before that illusion is shattered. After Producer a....
Read full review

Van Halen - Fair Warning
CoverIn my book Van Halen I and II will always be the ultimate David Lee Roth albums. "Women and Children First" was a great album with David Lee Roth as the center of the party. On Van Halen's fourth albu....
Read full review

 · Albums of the month
 · Retro Reviews

Back to the top - © 2002-2011 RevelationZ Magazine - Back to the top